Friday 16 October 2015

Journalist of the Year Awards @Vodacom #VJOY2015 #Gauteng

Hi Guys,

This year, the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards celebrate the theme Write Here. Right Now. Looking back on a year that has seen huge news stories and seismic changes in the media landscape the entries were once again of a high standard. We saw journalists pushing the boundaries to get their stories and tell them to the country and the world.

Convenor of the judging panel, Mary Papayya said: “This is the 14th year of the Vodacoms, every year the judges find themselves having to make incredibly hard decisions about winners and this year was no different. We were presented with excellent entries across the board and we’d like to congratulate all the winners.”

This year, 832 entries were received in the 12 categories: CSI/Sustainability, Editor’s Choice, Financial/Economic, Online, Photography, Print Feature, Print News, Radio Feature, Radio News, Sport, Television Feature and Television News. There were 296 entries from the Gauteng Province, making it the province with the most entries. 
Winners of the 2015 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Regional Awards for the Gauteng Province with Vodacom executives, Suraya Hamdulay and Tshepo Ramodibe and Convenor of the judging panel, Mary Papayya and Megan Rusi.
 Back Row winners: Marida Fitzpatrick. Beeld,Sebabatso Mosamo. Mail & Guardian Multimedia
Front Row winners: Yusuf Omar of eNCA, Joel Matlala.  eNews Channel Africa, Beauregard Tromp. Sunday Times and Malungelo Booi eNCA. 
Maya Makanjee, Chief Officer for Corporate Affairs at Vodacom Group said: “I would like to pay tribute to the judges, who year after year provide their expertise and knowledge to the judging of these prestigious awards. This year’s judging panel comprised experts in their fields, and I would like to thank Mary Papayya, Elna Rossouw, Collin Nxumalo, Arthur Goldstuck, Albe Grobbelaar, Ryland Fisher, Patricia McCracken, and Megan Rusi, who made their time and expertise available to us.”

Regional winners for the Gauteng Province were announced on 14 Oct 2015 at a function at the Protea Fire & Ice Hotel, Melrose Arch in Johannesburg. Each of the regional winners took home R5000 and will travel to Johannesburg for the national finals in November.

The winners of the 2015 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Regional Awards for the Gauteng Province are:

2015 CSI/Sustainability winners
Phillip de Wet, Sipho Kings, Sarah Wild, Rapula Moatshe. Mail & Guardian, SA’s Great Thirst Has Begun

2015 Financial/Economic winners
Lionel Faull, Vinayak Bhardwaj, Matuma Letsoalo, Sam Sole, and Stefaans Brummer. Mail & Guardian, Transnet Tender Boss’ R50-bn

2015 Online winners
Laura Lopez Gonzalez. Health-e News, Thousands Face Disability
Sebabatso Mosamo. Mail & Guardian Multimedia, Still No Furniture at Eastern Cape Schools

2015 Photography winner
James Oatway. Sunday Times, The Killing of Emmanuel Sithole

2015 Print Feature winner
Marida Fitzpatrick. Beeld. Series of Interviews, particularly with Jani Allan and Willem Boshoff (Body of Work)
The Judges commended Mia Malan of Mail & Guardian for her Body of Work, especially for her reporting on medical matters (Body of Work)

2015 Print News winner
Beauregard Tromp. Sunday Times, The Killing of Emmanuel Sithole
The Judges commended Marida Fitzpatrick of Beeld for her body of work, especially her reporting on the Oscar Pistorius verdict

2015 Radio Feature winner
Noma Bolani. AM Live, SABC Radio News. The Murder of Toddler Taegrin Morris

2015 Radio News winner
Vumani Mkhize. EWN, Bafana Bafana Captain Murdered

2015 Sport winner
Sameer Naik. Saturday Star, The Highs and Lows of SA Sport (Body of Work)

2015 Television Feature winner
Joy Summers. Carte Blanche, Bobroff’s Fall From Grace
The Judges commended Sophia Phirippides of Modern Times for her body of work, especially her reporting on Finding Leigh

2015 Television News winners
Malungelo Booi, Jacques Broodryk, Linge Ndabambi, and Joel MatlalaeNews Channel Africa. The Killing of Josias Sithole

2015 Editor’s Choice winner
Yusuf Omar of eNCA

“We’d like to congratulate all the winners in the Central region for thought-provoking and excellent journalism. We look forward to meeting you at the national finals, where we will be celebrating excellence in journalism in South Africa,” said Makanjee. 


Follow me on twitter @araijain or @thelifesway 
Email - for invites to launch events / sponsored posts and product reviews!
Checkout my Instagram (araijain) page 
Checkout my photo blog -
Like The Life's Way Page on Facebook -